About Geko Mofolo Prize

The Prize is administered and awarded in South Africa and its submissions are open to all Basotho in the continent and in the diaspora. The award opens at the end of March and closes in July of every year. The winner is announced on 8 September every year, the anniversary of Thomas Mofolo passing in 1948. He was born on 22 December 1876, in Khojane, Leribe, Lesotho.
A   B   O   U   T       T   H   I   S        P   R   I   Z   E

Named after the most important and pioneering author of Sesotho canon and literature, this Prize aims to advance the quality of Sesotho literature and a certain kind of ‘Bosotho’ + pride in it!

W  H  A  T     I S     A  T     S  T  A  K  E?

The winning manuscript will be awarded a publishing contract from Geko Publishing – under advisement and editorial guidance. The  author of the winning manuscript will also get opportunity to attend the Creative Writing Summer School and residency with Sol Plaatje University.

Other secondary, interesting prizes such as hampers, academic opportunities and other prizes that the Prize may raise from time to time. The secondary prizes may change from year to year. Geko Prize for Outstanding Fiction in Sesotho does not have a cash component at the moment. The prize is not transferable by the winning author.

Only the trustees can defer a winning manuscript, in which case they can only ever defer to the second-best manuscript. Only one award can be bestowed in one calendar year, unless in exceptional circumstances. The judges and patrons can withhold the awarding of the Prize if no worthwhile manuscript is unavailable.


To attract high-quality and imaginative fiction writing in Sesotho language and, to encourage Basotho – aspirant writers and authors – to keep writing in their language


The goal of this Prize is to publish the best Sesotho fiction manuscript for publishing every year from across the world, in any version of Sesotho and to grow the Prize into a globally recognisable prize for Sesotho literature globally.


Geko Publishing (Pty) Ltd is the patron for this prize. Geko reserves the right to appoint its patrons, judges, readers and advisors. This list will be released on the website and to the public. The carefully selected patrons endorse the award. The patrons of the prize ensure its integrity. The Prize will have 5-7 patrons.
First year of Prize
ZAR: value of contract
words or more
Anniversary of Mofolo's first book